Slide background



IEEE Technical Field Award for Professor Markos Papageorgiou

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) on a yearly basis presents 32 Technical Field Awards (TFAs) for contributions to or leadership in a specific field of interest of the IEEE. For nearly a century, the IEEE Awards Program has paid tribute to technical professionals whose exceptional achievements and outstanding contributions have made a lasting impact on technology, society, and the engineering profession. Each year the IEEE Awards Board recommends a select group of recipients to receive IEEE's most prestigious honors.

TUC Professor Markos Papageorgiou is the recipient of the 2020 IEEE Transportation Technologies Award, with the following citation For contributions to traffic flowing modelling and operations.

The IEEE Transportation Technologies Award was established in 2011 and is presented to an individual, a team, or multiple recipients up to three in number, recognizing advances in technologies within the fields of interest to the IEEE as applied in transportation systems. The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and cash honorarium. The award is sponsored by the following IEEE Societies: IEEE Industry Applications Society, IEEE Industrial Electronics Society, IEEE Intelligent Transportation Systems Society, IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society, IEEE Power Electronics Society, IEEE Power & Energy Society, and IEEE Vehicular Technology Society.

More information:

© School of Production Engineering & Management  Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International Licence